Indianpolis District

History of Our

Indianapolis District

portfolio2 portfolio3 portfolio4


Presiding Elder Rev. Dr. Anthony K.R. Gibson and First Lady Belinda Renee Gibson

Our Guide

Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path (Psalm 119:105)

The District

Inspirational Indianapolis District

Our Church

The African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church

small portfolio1 small portfolio2 small portfolio3 small portfolio4
themed object
get in touch

About Us

The Indianapolis District is composed of all the churches of The African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church in central Indiana. It was originally a part of the Missouri Conference of the A.M.E. Zion Church. At the 1908 Missouri Annual Conference held at Smith Memorial A.M.E. Zion Church in Du Quoin, Illinois, Bishop George Lincoln Blackwell set the Indiana and Michigan Conferences apart from the Missouri Conference.

The vision of our District is to "Inspiring Ministries to fulfill The Great Commission in the 21st Century". There are six churches that comprise the Indianapolis District: Penick-Messiah Church, Saint Mark Temple Church, Caldwell Chapel Church, Wallace Temple Church, Liberation Church and Jones Tabernacle Church. Our leader, the Rev. Dr. Anthony K.R. Gibson, was appointed Indianapolis District Presiding Elder in 2010 and is responsible for the spiritual, temporal and numerical growth and development of Churches, Pastors, Ministers and Lay members of the District. In addition to his District responsibilities, Dr. Gibson was elected as the seventh and youngest International President of the Presiding Elder's Council of The African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church. Dr. Gibson is married to the former Belinda Renee Burts. They have three sons: Gregory Anthony, Jeremy Jarrod and Jared Alexander Gibson.

slide up button